Solar Week - Ask a Question



To post a question, click on your area of interest from the topics below, and then click on the "Ask New Question" button. Or EMAIL or tweet your question about the Sun or life as a scientist to us -- and watch for it to appear here.  You can also visit our FAQs (frequently asked questions).

PrevPrev Go to previous topic
NextNext Go to next topic
Last Post 18 Mar 2019 08:44 AM by  Karin Hauck
Live webinar will take place on March 21: Aurora Citizen Science and the Power of the Crowd
 0 Replies
Sort:
Topic is locked
Author Messages
>5 Answers
Posts:13 >5 Answers

--
18 Mar 2019 08:44 AM
    We're excited to announce that the spring 2019 Solar Week live webinar will take place on March 21 with Dr. Liz MacDonald of Auorasaurus talking about Aurora Citizen Science and the Power of the Crowd.
    What are the Northern Lights and how do you know when is the best time to see them? How can you (YES, you) make contributions to NASA science? You will be introduced to the beautiful basics of the physics that cause the aurora borealis, how you can participate, and how scientists are using both satellite data and information from the public to figure out where and when they are best seen. We’ll discuss new technology, as well as well as learn about the Sun, magnetic fields, and plasma glitter (!) by putting the Northern Lights in the spotlight. From this example, we can see how everyone can contribute, and how new discoveries can be made in that process.

    Dr Liz MacDonald is a space physicist who works at NASA. Liz has been studying the glitter of the Northern Lights for 20+ years, and it never ceases to amaze her. In addition to doing citizen science and outreach, Liz does some amazing high-tech space physics. She has also led teams that build instruments to measure charged particles in the space environment for NASA and DOE satellite and rocket missions. She is the founder of the first citizen science project about the Northern Lights called Aurorasaurus. In 2018 her project published a landmark new study documenting the origin of a newly recognized type of aurora called STEVE. She will tell you this story too. Outside of work, she enjoys skiing, hiking, and poetry.
    You are invited to a Zoom webinar.
    When: Thursday, March 21 at 3 pm Eastern, 2 pm Central, 1 pm Mountain, 12 noon Pacific, 11 am Alaska, and 9 am Hawaii (will be archived here shortly thereafter if you miss the live event)
    Topic: Aurora Citizen Science and the Power of the Crowd
    Please click the link below to join the webinar:
    https://berkeley.zoom.us/j/388378362

    US: +16699006833,,388378362# or +16465588656,,388378362#
    Or Telephone:
    Dial(for higher quality, dial a number based on your current location):
    US: +1 669 900 6833 or +1 646 558 8656 or +1 877 369 0926 (Toll Free) or +1 877 853 5247 (Toll Free)
    Webinar ID: 388 378 362
    International numbers available: https://zoom.us/u/adKMDushAP
    Topic is locked


    Twitter Feed

    Scientist Leaderboard

    Name # of replies
    Multiverse skin is based on Greytness by Adammer